Download Our Mobile App

Home Sports Atlanta Dream Star Rhyne Howard Wins Rookie of the Year Award

Atlanta Dream Star Rhyne Howard Wins Rookie of the Year Award

by Nina Samone
0 comment

By: Nina Samone

The WNBA announced on Thursday that Atlanta Dream guard Rhyne Howard has been named the 2022 Rookie of the Year.

The No.1 overall pick is the 1st Dream player to earn the honor since Angel McCoughtry in 2009. For Rhyne Howard, the decision was almost unanimous. She received 53 of 56 first-place votes from the national panel. Shakira Austin from the Washington Mystics had two votes and NaLyssa Smith from the Fever had one vote.

From her first game, where she scored 16 points, had three rebounds, two steals and four assists, Howard made it clear that she was ready to run with the pros.

Howard is the first rookie to make the All-Star game since Napheesa Collier in 2019 and finished this season averaging 16.2 points, 4.5 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 1.6 steals.

She also joins Candace Parker, A’ja Wilson, Breanna Stewart, Chamique Holdsclaw, Tamika Catchings, Ruthie Bolton and Diana Taurasi a one of the few rookies who averaged at least 16 points, four rebounds, two assists, two steals and two blocks.

The Atlanta Dream have a great focal point in Howard as a player to help rebuild their franchise. Their future looks good, especially with more top lottery picks on the way.


Maloney, Jack. August 25, 2022. CBS WNBA. “2022 WNBA Rookie of the Year: Dream’s Rhyne Howard wins honor, highlights All-Rookie team.” <>

You may also like